Coffee after midnight?

What was I thinking?! Well I made it before midnight, but some how was still sipping it after midnight. Why did I do it? I can hardly remember.

Well today was the start of Summer in Chicago, maybe not officially, but it was the day the air conditioner finally got installed and turned on; the day were I actually wore shorts-didn’t even think I owned any that fit. (Makes me laugh cause I just realized these are the ones I almost destroyed in Hawaii. I bought them there since I was lacking in the shorts department, and I wore them the day we decided to hike in the rain, and not just trail hiking, but the kind where you just start wondering and seeing where barely there paths take you. Did I mention we hiked up a mountainous area and although we were covered with a thick canopy of trees, it indeed was raining hard. So the path we climbed up was no longer there when we climbed back. At one point I just decided it was much easier-and more fun to slide down the mountain instead of walk, it was like a fun mud slide. I barely had the shorts a day when I thought they were trashed, but looking at them today you would never know).

So anyway with Summer beginning also means the real beginning of the busy wedding season. I have had a few weddings already this season with other studios, but Saturday really marks the beginning for my studio’s season. I am so excited I can hardly sleep-oh wait that’s the coffee, but I am very excited! Well before the wedding I wanted to finish a few other things, some last minute portrait sessions that came up-I can’t wait to share them with you, but they are a gift so I have to keep it a surprise for now, and a long list of paperwork I keep putting off. So at some point in the night I thought it was a good idea to drink more coffee. Well its “coffee drink mix” really, the powdery stuff that comes in a tin with the red top, in flavors like Swiss White Chocolate and French Vanilla 🙂 Anyone that meets me quickly learns I like my drinks sweet-ridiculously sweet, its always a joke how many sugars I put in an iced tea!….

Ironically “If She Couldn’t Sleep” on Blessid Union of Souls’ “Walking Off the Buzz” album just came on the party shuffle on iTunes. How funny!
–Okay I can’t make this stuff up now! Next song on party shuffle started like this…
“late night, long day, somehow it’s never quite enough……so now i’m staying up all night
cause i’m trying to understand” Yep that’s Allister’s “Stuck”

Now I am beginning to think iTunes secretly reads your mind and plays music according to your mood or something. This is not the first time the songs just started to randomly go with my mood or what I was thinking.
So the third song was Jack Johnson’s “Dreams be Dreams.”

I wonder were these kind of songs playing all night or did I just start listening? I have had my headphones on all night-well except for about tens minutes when I first turned the music on about 1am. I put the headphones in my ears and was jamming out for a while, until I looked down and noticed they weren’t plugged in all the way, sorry neighbors, hope I didn’t wake the new baby. Okay that is one reason not to drink coffee after midnight! Another is because when its 4am and your work is done, your mind is mush, but you still can’t sleep, what do you do? blog of course! 🙂
So finally I catch up on my blog. No photos tonight, just thoughts, random, babbling thoughts.

Here’s some things that either happened too fast to blog about or I just didn’t get around to it yet…

Today (still Thursday June 5 to me I haven’t gone to bed yet) my fiance, Jon, and I were walking our dog Bailey. It was hot and sticky and we had gone on a very long walk we were one house away from home and Jon gets this really weird look on his face and starts shaking his hand and holding it in the air oddly. I ask what he is doing, his response still makes me giggle, “I think a bird just pooped on me!” Sure enough I looked up and there was a big white spot in his hair. I couldn’t stop laughing. He handed me the leash to the dog and ran upstairs. I would have loved to take a photo of it, but I had never seen anyone jump in the shower so quickly! It was so funny.

Maybe the birds pooping on his head had something to do what happened on Monday…

We have a large covered porch (we are on the second story of a two flat) and Bailey loves to sit out there, we put a futon out there. So we often leave the door open so she can come inside when she wants. There isn’t much out there, some old potted plants that died over the winter and some leaves that had blown onto there. But there wasn’t too much she could get into so we usually pay no attention to what she is doing, usually she just sits there and looks out and people on the street or chews on her nylabone. Every once in a while she’ll grab a stick or leaf, but we usually can tell and catch her. So Jon was playing video games and I was on my laptop working in the living room. Bailey waltzes inside right past Jon, who hardly gives her a second look, and she jumps up onto the couch three cushions away from me. As she walks by Jon laughs and says, “what does she have now, I think its a whole branch!” I look over and there she is happily chewing a dead bird on our couch! Gross! Jon and I just laugh, as I make Jon take it away from her and dispose of it. I cleaned the area and brushed Bailey’s teeth. Bailey was so cute, even causing trouble. I thought about taking her photo, but we also wanted to get the thing away from her and out of the house as fast as we could! (today I took away all her fun and swept the porch and disposed of the plants-don’t worry it’s all going to my mom’s for compost.) Jon has been repeating the line from Family Guy, when the family talks about the time Brian (the family dog) brought them a dead bird. Brian responds (yes the dog talks) with, “that was a present for the family!” Some how if Bailey could talk I think that’s how she would look at it too. She has the cute and innocent act down pretty good.

Okay birds are chirping, always a sign that if you still haven’t gone to bed from the night before you are in trouble!

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Coffee after midnight?

  1. Pingback: Where have I been–What the Duck! « Tina Jean Photography

Leave a comment