Peanut Butter Jelly Time

No not the song from Family Guy although that makes me laugh and makes me also think of a co-worker, we used to work with at Cheesecake Factory, and how he’d walk around singing that over and over for months. (Here is the original story of “peanut butter jelly time” I found when I tried to look up the family guy clip)

But really I am talking about “peanut butter jelly time”, as a time when you were young and ate the classics like peanut butter and jelly and the time I am eating it now. I wanted to write a short entry so I remember this time and how I feel. The time when my business is really starting -this is the first full year I have relied solely on photography full time, no temp jobs or waitressing jobs or all the many other jobs I had while I was in college and the few years after when the business was starting out. I finally took the plunge and took the chance that my career as a photographer would support me. And thanks to my amazing clients I have been doing well.

But sometimes its still tough. I am still learning every day how to run a business. There is a lot of trial and error and learning from mistakes. -one of my favorite lines in my recent favorite song, “I’m Yours” by Jason Mraz is “you win some you LEARN some.” Artists sometimes have a hard time with the “business” side of the business. And I am no exception. Accounting is probably my best weakness. It’s tough to decide where to put the money (in equipment, marketing, new products, etc) and manage it as it comes in along with make sure it comes in correctly. Currently I do everything myself, accounting, bookkeeping, taking photos, editing photos, making appointments, customer service, etc, etc. And most of the time I actually love doing it! It’s great to be your own boss, and in charge of all aspects of the business. But it has its downsides to as I said I am not an expert in all the areas of running a business. -I hope to hire experts for the tasks in the near future. But until then I will continue to perfect what I can do and continue to learn.

Okay so I am babbling -those of you that know me, know this is just a “Tina story” as my friends and family call them-stories that babble on and go off on tangents. :) Well what does this have to do with peanut butter and jelly?!

For the last couple weeks I have been eating A LOT of PB & J. I mean like every day for lunch-or snacks. Can I really love it that much? Well I do love it-in fact I realized that today which inspired me to write this post. But in the beginning I starting eating a lot of it because it was inexpensive, you could buy a jar of peanut butter, a jar of jelly-or jam as I prefer, and a loaf of bread for about $10-or less if you shop smart and it could last you awhile-like two weeks :) or so. Before I had gotten used to eating out for lunch almost every day, it was my time in the day to get out of the house and office for a little while and read or write, just relax. I’d go to Panera Bread, Starbucks, Jamba Juice, or a little restaurant nearby. All of which added up for lunch rather quickly, spending $6 to sometimes close to $18 a day for lunch! But I was used to eating out, for more than eight years I worked in restaurants. I lived the life of a server, eating out, having cash all the time, and if you were ever short on cash, you simply worked another shift and almost like magic that night you had money again. I guess after so long living like that and being surrounded by others who lived like that, always dining out like it was no big deal, I just got used to it and didn’t remember any other way to live (my fiance and I met at a restaurant and worked together for a couple years, he still worked there part time for several months after I left). We ate at the restaurant almost once a shift and between the two of us that was six days a week. Time was short with us-we both worked a lot, so cooking a meal was just too much of a pain. I guess its hard to break habits. But now as we settle down and both of us really begin our careers we find more time to cook. And I love it! I find other things to spend my money on, like costs of running a business, better equipment, better products for my clients. And the way I receive income is very different. Sometimes I feel like its a roller coaster. There are ups and downs. Sometimes it feels you are on top of the world and you want to dine out and treat yourself. And other times you know its peanut butter and jelly time.

Today I realized though I LOVE peanut butter and jelly time! As I ate my pb & j on whole wheat toast it reminded me of a simpler time, a time when I didn’t even know what money was. (-And gas was below ONE dollar!) My mom was already teaching us lessons on stretching a dollar back when I was a kid even though I couldn’t see that until today. Back then I ate peanut butter and jelly sandwiches (sometimes toast) on white bread with the crust cut off-my mom was so nice! (still is!) Or she would make these cool “Banana Boats” I think she got it from Sesame Street or something. Its one piece of bread covered with peanut butter then half a banana in the center, fold the bread around the banana. -Oh don’t forget the fruit roll-up sail, use a straw or other material to attach it to the boat. Yummy!! Man I wish I had some bananas.

Well no matter what the situation, peanut butter and jelly can bring a smile to your face, make you feel like a kid, and make you feel on top of the world. I think I will always make time for good old PB and J!

Sorry there are no photos of the peanut butter and jelly I ate it too fast :)

1 Comment

Filed under Personal

One response to “Peanut Butter Jelly Time

  1. Andrea

    I agree! Tommy & I will buy a couple loaves of bread. We’ll each take one to work w/ our peanut butter (usually no jelly, for some reason I don’t think of it!??). I grew up eating peanut butter banana sandwiches though, and I love them just as much to this day! I definatly know how ya feel…about being on top of the world and then feeling like you’re living a “peanut butter jelly” life. But it isn’t so bad, is it? It gives us time to really see and appreciate all that we DO have in our lives!

Leave a Reply

